Yamaha V Star Forum

Full Version: Can I replace my engine?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm very new to owning bikes. My bike broke down on me about a week ago and the mechanic diagnosed the problem to a bent push rod that did a lot of damage and ultimately the bike needs a new engine. I've found a suitable replacement on ebay, but my main question is if it would be possible to do the work myself along with two friends that have experience working on bikes. The bike is a 2000 and the engine is a 650. The reason I want to attempt to do the work myself because I was quoted by my mechanic at approximately 8-11 hours of labor at $90/hr (which I just do not have) so at this point I feel that there is not too much to lose and was wondering if anyone had any experience replacing an engine. I have the service manual and the internet and a desire to have my only mode of transportation up and running again any advice?
(06-04-2015, 03:36 AM)eldonfavio Wrote: [ -> ]I'm very new to owning bikes. My bike broke down on me about a week ago and the mechanic diagnosed the problem to a bent push rod that did a lot of damage and ultimately the bike needs a new engine. I've found a suitable replacement on ebay, but my main question is if it would be possible to do the work myself along with two friends that have experience working on bikes. The bike is a 2000 and the engine is a 650. The reason I want to attempt to do the work myself because I was quoted by my mechanic at approximately 8-11 hours of labor at $90/hr (which I just do not have) so at this point I feel that there is not too much to lose and was wondering if anyone had any experience replacing an engine. I have the service manual and the internet and a desire to have my only mode of transportation up and running again any advice?