Yamaha V Star Forum

Full Version: Handlebars
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
OK so im looking for handlebars that will work with the factory controls and wires/cables. Right now i have my stock bars rolled forward and i have to reach for the front brake because i couldnt turn the control because i believe its indented to fit in one spot.
(10-24-2015, 09:15 PM)derekj72 Wrote: [ -> ]OK so im looking for handlebars that will work with the factory controls and wires/cables. Right now i have my stock bars rolled forward and i have to reach for the front brake because i couldnt turn the control because i believe its indented to fit in one spot.

i'm not getting it , how would turning the brake lever bring it closer to the rider.. if it's turned down you'll have to reach around and if it's turned out it would be further away. were the bars rolled forward for comfort or the look? you can get pull back risers, then reverse em, sometimes that works better than rolling the bars forward. to move the factory controls you'll need to drill a spot for the locating tab on the controls. or maybe just remove the locating tab. but it's there to stop the controls from spinning while riding i never tried it but they may lock down tight enough without it
(10-24-2015, 09:43 PM)pauli466 Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-24-2015, 09:15 PM)derekj72 Wrote: [ -> ]OK so im looking for handlebars that will work with the factory controls and wires/cables. Right now i have my stock bars rolled forward and i have to reach for the front brake because i couldnt turn the control because i believe its indented to fit in one spot.

i'm not getting it , how would turning the brake lever bring it closer to the rider.. if it's turned down you'll have to reach around and if it's turned out it would be further away. were the bars rolled forward for comfort or the look? you can get pull back risers, then reverse em, sometimes that works better than rolling the bars forward. to move the factory controls you'll need to drill a spot for the locating tab on the controls. or maybe just remove the locating tab. but it's there to stop the controls from spinning while riding i never tried it but they may lock down tight enough without it

The bars were rolled forward for comfort.which now has the front break control at a downward slant forward. I want to equal the rise of my rolled handlebars im not worried about pullback.
(10-24-2015, 10:43 PM)derekj72 Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-24-2015, 09:43 PM)pauli466 Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-24-2015, 09:15 PM)derekj72 Wrote: [ -> ]OK so im looking for handlebars that will work with the factory controls and wires/cables. Right now i have my stock bars rolled forward and i have to reach for the front brake because i couldnt turn the control because i believe its indented to fit in one spot.

i'm not getting it , how would turning the brake lever bring it closer to the rider.. if it's turned down you'll have to reach around and if it's turned out it would be further away. were the bars rolled forward for comfort or the look? you can get pull back risers, then reverse em, sometimes that works better than rolling the bars forward. to move the factory controls you'll need to drill a spot for the locating tab on the controls. or maybe just remove the locating tab. but it's there to stop the controls from spinning while riding i never tried it but they may lock down tight enough without it

The bars were rolled forward for comfort.which now has the front break control at a downward slant forward. I want to equal the rise of my rolled handlebars im not worried about pullback.
if you turn pull back risers to face forward , you can leave the bars at the stock angle and still get the extra room your looking for. the're are pull back risers made for any height your looking for. doing this will leave the controls at the stock angle also. just reverse these and you'll get what your looking for http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chrome-Pullback-...X2&vxp=mtr.
(10-24-2015, 09:15 PM)derekj72 Wrote: [ -> ]OK so im looking for handlebars that will work with the factory controls and wires/cables. Right now i have my stock bars rolled forward and i have to reach for the front brake because i couldnt turn the control because i believe its indented to fit in one spot.
So remove the control and drill a new hole.. the hole is like 3/16th,marking the location is the hard part...on second thought i believe the throttle control is indented. the brake lever should rotate by loosening the screws